homepage
/
Dallas, TX
/
Funeral Directors
/
Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery

Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery Reviews Summary

Unclaimed
Claimed

Funeral Directors | Dallas, TX

3235 Lombardy Ln, Dallas, TX 75220, United States

Trustguide Rating

TrustScore®
A+
A
B
C
D
F
Verified by
Trustguide®

This rating reflects Trustguide's opinion about the organization's customer feedback published on review platforms.

What do customers say about Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery?

As of Mar 13, 2024, 326 customers have reviewed this business and rated it 4.3 Star out of 5. Trustguide conducted an in-depth analysis of Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery's publicly available reviews, carefully extracting sentiment phrases to help users understand customer experiences.

About this report

This report was produced by Trustguide on Mar 13, 2024, based on a randomly selected set of publicly available reviews, sorted by relevance. Trustguide uses Natural Language Processing to analyze the data set and produces unbiased and objective review summaries. See source

Created by
Trustguide
Published on
February 16, 2024
Last updated
March 13, 2024
This demo page is used to illustrate the benefits of a premium Trustguide's listing. Learn more

Satisfaction Score

Based on the set of reviews used to generate this report, it appears that of Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery's customers had a positive experience.

Positive
Neutral
Negative
More details
Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery

Own this business?

Claim your Trustguide profile ans start building genuine reltionship wih your customers.
Learn more

Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery's customer reviews analysis

Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery receives mixed but generally positive reviews, with clients praising their professionalism, patience, and compassion during challenging times. Customers specifically commend staffers like Michelle, Diana Mendoza, Yesenia Lopez, and Javier Hernandez for their exceptional assistance and empathetic demeanor. The cemetery's grounds maintained by the Catholic Diocese of Dallas are highlighted as a serene, holy place, appreciated for its regular liturgical services and the respect shown to the departed with frequent floral offerings. However, there are concerning reviews about management issues, security lapses, and poor handling of more intricate service requests. Problems such as lack of effective coordination, communication failures, and untimely responses to grave maintenance and customer queries arise in several experiences shared by the reviewers. The absence of on-site security, inconsistency in practices of disposing floral tributes, and disorganization in customer service personnel, notably with funeral arrangements, are recurring negative feedback themes. These drawbacks appear to detract from the revered reputation of the establishment, suggesting a need for internal review and policy standardization to ensure better service consistency.

Positive Feedback

Positive customer experiences with Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery are underpinned by the professionalism and emotional support provided by the staff during times of grief, with several customers spotlighting specific individuals who offered exemplary service. The serene environment of the cemetery, consecrated by the Bishop, serves as a tranquil place for visitors who come to reflect or pray. Regular liturgical services enhance the sacred experience for the Catholic community. The well-maintained facilities add to the overall positive impression, making it a fitting resting place for loved ones. Customers describe moments of kindness, patience, and understanding that eased their bereavement process, reflecting the strengths of the establishment in attending to the emotional and logistical needs at a sensitive time.

Concerns and Threads

Among the negative feedback, unresolved management issues are a prominent concern for customers of Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery. Criticisms include underwhelming responses to the disrespect of grave tributes, unreturned calls, and absent staff during key moments, exacerbating the grief of mourners. A recurrent strain in the reviews pertains to the lack of security services, with incidents of vandalism highlighted by a client. This lack of security is especially noted against the backdrop of a neighborhood described as prone to homelessness and addiction. Administrative disorganization, evident from multiple complaints about poor coordination and inadequate communication, contributes significantly to the negative experiences. Incidents such as excessive delay in placing temporary markers, overcharging, and issues with monument installations provoke considerable distress. Overall, clients lament missed opportunities for Calvary Hill to facilitate a smoother grieving process.

Frequently asked questions about Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery

Does Calvary Hill provide a secure and peaceful environment for visitors?

While the cemetery's grounds are regarded as serene and well-maintained, some reviews express concerns about the lack of on-site security, resulting in instances of vandalism. Prospective customers should consider visiting the site to assess their comfort with the security measures in place.

Can I trust the staff at Calvary Hill to be present and supportive during funeral services?

Most customer reviews commend the professionalism and empathy of the staff members, though there are instances where the lack of staff presence and support during crucial moments of the funeral service was raised as an issue. It might be prudent to discuss expectations and confirm arrangements with your funeral counselor in advance.

How well does Calvary Hill handle customers' specific requests for grave markers and floral tributes?

Feedback indicates that while many customers are satisfied with the cemetery’s general maintenance and respectful treatment of floral tributes, there are some reports of mishandling and mismanagement, including untimely disposal of flowers and delays in grave marker installation. Clarify policies and ensure good communication channels for special requests to avoid such issues.

Recent customer reviews and testimonials for Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery

Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery
Blake Henderson
4-Star
a month ago
I like to visit different malls and for the opposite reason...cemeteries, where I can unwind, spend some quiet time and pray. This Calvary Hill Cemetery is under the Catholic Diocese of Dallas. Therefore, the whole place is consecrated by the Bishop. It is a holy ground. My guess would be that Liturgical Services are held here on a regular basis. I was surprised that there were so many fresh flowers offered on top of hudreds of headstone that they seem to look like they were growing live from the ground. After surveying the area, it made me think and realize that i too will be buried like them. I just never know when. It therefore inspires me to do what i can to spend my remaining time now in a worthwhile manner.
Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery
Yari Gali
4-Star
2 months ago
Our loved one was laid to rest not even 2 weeks ago from writing this review. We are so hurt from losing a young family member of the family. We've been grieving but not able to completely since we made this choice; poorly managed, It's very unsafe and our tribute with fresh flower arrangements not even a week after burial were tossed on multiple times within a 11 day period from my brother burial date by a staff member. 1. Starting with cemetary- poorly managed but very expensive: no cameras at all near commercial garbage nor around premise; coordination of burials side by side on same row was overlooked and my brothers flowers ( over1 k spent) were not respected and tossed; note this time of year its been nice enough and theres been a bit of rain to keep fresh flowers blooming, but they were tossed mutiple times; I advised Sam I have evidence of the flowers with date & time placed and pleaded to do something but all he said was sorry and he has no answer. I also have evidence that the gravesite adjacent to my brothers gravesite on the same row has the same similar cross flower arrangement but my brothers were more fresh than his neighbors & were tossed but NOT the cross flower arrangement next to him; see picture. Note, the cross flower arrangement was placed on 11/27 and tossed in calverys large trash bin by Tuesday afternoon, 11/28th. We were torn to see that happen over again!! We pleaded to check out the big trash bin to salvage the cross as we saw my little brothers gravesite bare and lonely. We went and saw the cross flower arrangement all torn and unraveled; it was so depressing to see. Our heart shattered and cried our heart out. 2. Cavelry Hill Funeral counselor & staff was absent on the day of burial; that made it difficult since there's a language barrier, but we made a mistake nor weren't given a choice to choose someone that would be there with us. We were looking for someone whom our family could relate to and seek refuge at a time of need, but our family funeral counselor was preoccupied with another family. How does that happen?? Not 1 calvery hill personnel there for us. 3. The funeral counselor never returned my calls to avoid or ease us through the dilemma we are going through. Nor did she follow up after service. 4. Issues that will NEVER be resolved nor time will ever be given back for the opportunity to focus on the grief like it should. 5. Sam Russell (general manager)didn't ease my concern, he said the guys outside have been working out there for 15, 20 and 30 years; as if I don't know but they do know the rules, and didn't offer to get closure with the incident. I thought a spitful act could be because of my previous complaints, maybe a targeted or hate crime; I won't know. My time will never be replaced, and I don't know if I feel secure here. 6. Sam Russell says there's no cameras to rectify the issue or reprimand the staff members that are tossing out my brothers flowers immediately after fresh flowers are placed or if other. Lots of money went into the flower arrangement and services, but more importantly the respect and honor we attempted to give my brother's gravesite, our tribute with a beautiful fresh cross flower arrangements and flowers in carton boxes, and my time to grieve as it should--will never be replaced nor will I feel safe to tribute or honor his site with such beautiful flowers again. With that notion, I share with you reading this.
Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery
maria palacios
4-Star
4 months ago
My dad passed away suddenly in early September, we were recommended Calvary Hill Funeral Home by our church. The amount of patience, kindness and support we had from the team at Calvary a hill was outstanding, especially from Michelle. She had so much patience for me and my family and was so respectful. I am glad my dad was laid to rest with them, they took care of everything and the services that were provided to us was amazing.
Read all reviews

Overall Rating

TrustScore®
A+
A
B
C
D
F
Verified by
Trustguide®
Overall Rating
4.3
/5
326
reviews
Excellent
Good
Average
Fair
Poor
More details

About Calvary Hill Funeral Home & Cemetery

Funeral Directors

Located near Dallas Love Field Airport, Calvary Hill Funeral Home serves the cities of Dallas, Irving, Addison, Carrollton and surrounding areas. Calvary Hill Cemetery is one of four cemeteries operated by the Catholic Diocese of Dallas. Calvary Hill Funeral Home is proud to be a member of the Dignity Memorial family. While Calvary Hill Funeral Home has been a trusted provider for generations of Catholic families, we offer compassionate services and care for all cultures and religions. Bilingual funeral planners are also on staff to help in your time of need.

Expand